bullet Kumaun University, a residential-cum-affiliating university, was established on 1st December 1973 under the Act of State Legislature (U P State Universities Act).
bullet The University Grants Commission (UGC) granted full recognition to the University on June 30, 1984.
bullet Ever since its inception, Kumaun University has always held a place of pride among the state universities.
bullet Kumaun University is permanent member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).
bullet Kumaun University has been awarded FOUR Stars status by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC).
bullet Kumaun University is an ISO 9001-2008 certified institution, which follows International Quality Management System.
bullet Kumaun University consists of two campuses at Nainital and Almora, University is developing its third campus at Bhimtal to cater the technical, professional and vocational education.
bullet 35 affiliated Government Colleges; and almost equal number of affiliated self-financed private institutions spread across the Kumaun region.
bullet The total area covered by the university thus far is an impressive 160 acres in the Central Himalayan region.
bullet The main focus of the University has been to include the courses which are relevant and facilitate the learners in developing skills for easy job access.
bullet Kumaun University has been imparting quality education in the disciplines of Arts (Languages, Literatures, Social Sciences, and Humanities), Commerce & Management, Education, Law, Medicine, Sciences, and Technology under the Clause 12 (B) of UGC.
bullet Faculties, College and Centres of Studies
bullet Faculty of Arts, Science, Commerce & Management, Education, Law, Medical Sciences, Technology & Visual Arts
bullet UGC-Human Resource Development Centre
bullet Centre for Gandhian Studies, Centre for Studies in Climate Change & Centre of Excellence in Natural Resource Data Management System